Picture
Today we had a long but great haul from North Platte, NE, all the way to Iowa City, Iowa!  We had TWO major high lights to the trip.  FIRST:  an incredible meal at the Corn Crib Restaurant in Shelby, IA, just off the 1-80.  Doug and Dave Robinson (two nice and funny brothers) own and run the restaurant and station in great style and taste. They were incredibly friendly and the food is HOME MADE!!!  God love 'em: their Grandma's Chicken Dinner was the best fried chicken and home mash potatoes I have had in a verrrry long time.  Kath was in absolute heaven and it was a lovely treat after a good 5 hours of driving (see Kath in food heaven shown).  Each plate was $5.99 each!  These guys are awesome.  I have a pic of Dave and Doug but it was a bit blurry - Bummer.  However, I have provided a link to their website below ... go visit them if you ever are in their neck of the woods!

Day 4 Highlight of the Day:  
Covered Bridges of Madison County

Picture
At the spur of the moment while I was driving I saw a sign for the bridges of Madison County.  I took the exit and drove about 10 miles (3 down a winding, dusty road) to reach the Hogback Bridge (shown).  WE ARE SO GLAD we made the detour! It was great! and to top it off; the back drop was a massive field of black-eyed susan's -- a massive swath of mustard yellow.  Click image for a view of the slide show of these pics... just stay with the first picture that shows from the link and the slide show will play .. 

Picture
The dusty road (it was curvy at times) to the Hogback bridge!

The Corn Crib - in Shelby, IA 

Picture
Okay -- Kath and I are a bit perplexed at the names of the service stations out here ... What subliminal message are they sending?  There was another service station called "PUMP and Pantry" .. I told kath -- "I thought it said PUMP & PANTY!"  ... what is with KUM and Go ... my goodness!


Cookie
7/9/2012 02:23:52 am

Did I miss Umi's comments? Thanks for the shout-out to hubby, muchos gracias, senorita! I miss road trips, and getting more and more jealous there wasn't trunk-space pour moi, wah!! Route 66 re-visited, but with hot-chicks, a cat, weirder store names, plus the ususal great people, yeah almost the same!! Later....

Reply
7/10/2012 08:58:24 am

Those gas station names are a riot! Really!!!?? What's next? Load + Blow, Passin' Gas?
Umi rocks. Ride on!

Reply



Leave a Reply.