Umi the Cat's Day 3 Hotel Review: 
The La Quinta in North Platte, Nebraska

DAY 3 July 7th WRAP - UP Vail, CO to North Platte, NE

Picture
Alright! Today we took it easy with a leisurely ride through the rest of Colorado and into North Platte, Nebraska!  Colorado was great. SOOOO GREAT, that, for those of you that know me, I drove off the highway when I saw a YARD SALE  --- off an exit ramp, thats is.  Just off the 1-70 in Idaho Springs, CO - about 20 minutes before Denver.  The folks having the sale were great.  Kath got a cribbage board, a Buddah incense burner and a nice throw blanket.  I got a couple of great blankets as well and plan to take them back -- and I got them FOR A DOLLAH!  AWESOME!  I almost bought a cool pair of fold up opera glass for 50 cents... but they didn't have THE POWAH and I don't normally see opera's where I live!  I have provided a nice picture of the folks who hosted the yard sale below, Carol and Bob.  Idaho Springs was a great little Town with a lot of charm and homey feel.  It makes you feel good about  the US of A and the world.  People are genuinely GOOD and KIND -- and road trips like this help to reinforce that.  

Just before we reached the Border of Nebraska we definitely have some kudos for the Shell station we hit.. great owners, clean bathrooms and good advice.  I am sad I didn't get the proper name and location of the station -- tssk, tssk!  See pictures below as well as the link of our photos for the day.  

AS FOR UMI, the cat:  GREAT GIRL again today... and she definitely has a great recommendation for the AAA recommended La Quinta hotel off of I-80 in North Platte.  See her link... 

BEST ATTRACTION in NORTH PLATTE, NEBRASKA:  
The Golden Spike Tower in North Platte, Nebraska, rises 8 stories above Union Pacific's 2,850-acre Bailey Yard the world's largest train yard -- this is amazing ... see the link  ... 



Harriet DeHoff
7/8/2012 12:41:04 am

Hi Madge. Am enjoying your trip vicariously here in Maine.

Reply
Cookie
7/8/2012 06:38:38 am

Umi is sounding more southern the more east you go....umm...and very particular about her linens....ummm...now why is that one supposes? Keep on trucking Gals!!!!

Reply
7/8/2012 11:16:39 am

Picture of Carol & Bob is missing...and I can't hear the music but I am lovin' the trip!

Reply
7/8/2012 11:51:16 am

Harmony.. glad you chimed in .. the sound bites are in Itunes format but I have had people hear them on word... I am sad you can't hear them ... you should be able to open them somehow. The cat hotel reviews are really funny. Carol and Bob would not load and we were up late last night and early this morning driving... so, running on empty.. I hope to people can get into the music ... drats that it is not linking. It does for me when I check the published site ... Later ML

Reply



Leave a Reply.